EMAIL ABUSE...
aka Junk Email

Dear Internet User,

Within the past months of March, April and May 1997 Aero.com has been subject to a flood of "junk email" which has cost us time and aggrivation. Most users would just delete it but we do business over the Net and are careful to take this approach. We have made the effort to do some research on this topic and acquire information which will be quite interesting to you as a potential receptical for such bits and bytes.

The major sinner in this field is a company by the name of CyberPromotions which owns the domain names SAVETREES.COM and CYBERPROMO.COM. If you try to forward the email you receive from CYBER.NET or EARTHLINK.NET you may see something in the header of the email mentioning Cyberbomber and that the email does not originate from them. That is because this is a service as well as a software package that they - CyberPromotions and not Earthlink or CyberNet - sell and the email is merely DIRECTED by their server and originated by the unfortunately not-so-smart firms or sole proprietors who don't know their lack of ethics. Also, we understand that CyberPromotions has received 1.4 million requests for removal of email addresses from their mailing lists. We [Aero.com] have emailed them at least 150 times to please remove us and they have ignored this to date, hence one of the many reasons for this page.

The following links cover this topic both with examples of such messages as well as how such blasts come into existance.

CYBER PROMOTIONS, INC.
(CYBERPROMO.COM)
ABUSES INTERNET WITH E-MAIL

Please click the button for each firm to view
press statements just released regarding this issue:



OTHER HARASSING ENTITIES

Please email me at info@aero.com if you find more!


Domain Name:
PUBLIC.COM

Status: On Hold (6/5/97)

L&L Information Services
4915 S. Woodlawn
Chicago, IL 60615

Administrative/Technical/Zone:
Mark Lavenant ML26-ORG marc@PUBLIC.COM
TEL: (773) 924-3110



Domain Name:
QUANTCOM.COM


Quantum Communications
6 Laurel Lane
Stratham, NH 03885

Administrative/Technical/Zone:
Rines, Walt WR400 walt@PWRNET.COM
TEL: 603-772-4096



Domain Names:
THEDUPLICATOR.COM
YOURSUCCESS.COM

People Power
40 Old Branch Rd.
Rye, NH 03870

Administrative Contact:
Wood, Tom TW1607 tomwood@YOURSUCCESS.COM
TEL: 603-964-9251
FAX: 603-964-1833


Technical/Zone Contact:
Wallace, Sanford SW1708 domreg@CYBERPROMO.COM [THIS IS CYBERPROMOTIONS!]
TEL: (215) 628-9780

For those firms interested in advertising in such a way we want you to know that you are throwing money out the window. Marketing Tools Magazine covered this topic and firm in their April '97 issue, and not favorably either. Everyone we have spoken to on this issue has stated that they automatically delete any incoming emails from above domains or those carrying strange subject info. This method of advertising is very unwelcome to most users and the only ones we see benefitting from this are those selling you the service. To be effective on the Internet - have a web site that includes all of your marketing and sales info and include the option for the user to add themselves to your mailing list and even for their name to be resold. That way the action was theirs. Only once have we ever received a complaint and it was from a gentleman who had forgotten he signed up with us. Needless to say, we don't bombard our mailing list users with email of any kind.

The return address of each email message THROUGH Cyber Promotions is normally masked, sometimes with other firms' domain names without permission, and generally cannot be responded to. If you have to hide who you are and what you do when conveying advertising to your clients' "potential clients" and recipients become angry at receiving such messages... isn't there something wrong with this picture?


I have attempted calling and emailing Sanford Wallace, "president" of CyberPromotions, myself to discuss his actions but was screened by the receptionist. All correspondence went unanswered - as expected - and the web site merely displays the level of mentality we are dealing with. The PRESS may be able to find Sanford after hours as well if you are likewise screened away... he lives HERE in Philadelphia .

It is unfortunate that this person does not understand the core of what makes a business successful. We and many others would be thankful to local businesspeople in Philadelphia if they could show Mr. Wallace what business ethics really are and how much they are worth.

By the way... does anyone remember the infamous O.J. Simpson video and all those who blocked the phone lines by asking so many questions...?

CyberPromotions - (215) 628-9780
Find out why they target you and what type of people they really are. In Philadelphia it's a local call!
Myra is their PR contact, is responsible for removal of your email addresses and will most likely answer the phone as well.
... or Fax: (215) 628-2523 or (215) 628-9762


For serious complaints please contact:

Pennsylvania State Attorney General,
Consumer Protection

Tel: (215) 560-2414

The Better Business Bureau
Tel: (215) 985-9313